The American Composites Manufacturers Association (ACMA) announced the recipients of its 2021 Membership Awards. Each year, the ACMA Membership Awards recognize outstanding members for their dedication and hard work to ensure that the composites industry prospers.
The award recipients will be honored in person at ACMA’s Membership Awards Ceremony and Reception, taking place on Monday, October 18, 2021, prior to CAMX - the Composites and Advanced Materials Expo in Dallas, TX. The Awards Ceremony and Reception is sponsored by AOC, Composites One, Creative Composites Group, Gordon Plastics, and IDI Composites International. The event is free to attend and open to all industry guests, RSVP here.
Pioneer Award 
 The Pioneer Award was created to recognize individuals who have either developed, enhanced or created processes and/or materials that have advanced the composites industry. The recipients of the 2021 Pioneer Award are: 

  • Ahmad Al-Sa'adi, Senior Vice President of Technical Services, Saudi Aramco
  • Thomas Atkins, Engineering Manager, PRC Composites 
  • David Hauber, VP of Engineering, Trelleborg Sealing Solutions Albany, Inc.  

Academic Pioneer Award 
 New in 2021, the Academic Pioneer Award recognizes individuals in academia (professors, educators, etc.) with original, visionary, and innovative ideas that have been scientifically investigated, tested, and demonstrated to advance composites technology. The recipient of the 2021 Academic Pioneer Award is:  

  • Dr. Habib Dagher, Executive Director, University of Maine’s Advanced Structures and Composites Center 

Outstanding Volunteer Award 
 Each year, an individual that has gone the extra mile in service to ACMA and the industry is recognized by ACMA staff and members. All nominations will be received internally and reviewed by the Awards Committee. The recipient of the 2021 Outstanding Volunteer Award is: 

  • Scott Reeve, Director of Marketing, Creative Composites Group 

Hall of Fame Award 
 The ACMA Hall of Fame Award recognizes a member who has attained distinction among their peers through their efforts, involvement and accomplishments in the composites industry and its associations. The recipient of the 2021 Hall of Fame Award is: 

  • John K. Merrell*, Founder of IDI Composites International 

Lifetime Achievement Award 
 The ACMA Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes a business owner who has been in the composites industry for at least 20 years and, through their involvement, has made a significant and lasting contribution to the industry. The recipient of the 2021 Lifetime Achievement Award is: 

  • Fred Norman, Former Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, AOC
 *Awarded posthumously