WASHINGTON — The American Institute of Architects (AIA) has selected the 10 recipients of the 2013 AIA Small Project Awards. The program, now in its tenth year, was established to recognize small-project practitioners for the high quality of their work and promote excellence in small-project design. It emphasizes the excellence of small-project design and strives to raise public awareness of the value and design excellence that architects bring to projects, no matter the limits of size and scope.

Award recipients are categorized into four groups:

Category 1: A small project construction, object, work of environmental art or architectural design element up to $150,000.

Category 2: A small project construction, up to $1,500,000.

Category 3: A small project construction, object, work of environmental art, or architectural design less than 5,000 square feet constructed by the architect. The architect must have had a significant role in the construction, fabrication and/or installation of the work, in addition to being the designer.

Category 4: Unbuilt architectural designs less than 5,000 square feet for which there is no current intent to build, of all project types including purely theoretical, visionary projects, with or without a client.

This year’s recipients are:

Category 1:

  • Bemis Info Shop; Omaha, Neb.; Min | Day
  • Cemetery Marker; South Canaan, Pa.; Kariouk Associates
  • Studio for a Composer; Spring Prairie, Wis.; Johnsen Schmaling Architects

Category 2:

  • Nexus House; Madison, Wis.; Johnsen Schmaling Architects
  • Pavilion at Cotillion Park; Dallas; Mell Lawrence Architects
  • Webb Chapel Park Pavilion; Mission, Texas; Cooper Joseph Studio

Category 3:

  • 308 Mulberry; Lewes, Del.; Robert M. Gurney, FAIA
  • Nevis Pool and Garden Pavilion; Bethesda, Md.; Robert M. Gurney, FAIA
  • Tahoe City Transit Center; Tahoe City, Calif.; WRNS Studio

Category 4:

  • Four Eyes House; Coachella Valley, Calif.; Edward Ogosta Architecture

For more information, visit www.aia.org.