The National Building Museum announced that Marriott International is the 2024 recipient of its prestigious Honor Award which will be presented at the Museum’s annual Gala on Thursday, June 6. The Honor Award recognizes individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions to our built heritage.

Since its founding in 1927 in Washington, D.C. and the opening of its first hotel property in 1957, Marriott has been shaping landscapes in America and globally for nearly a century. As the world’s largest hospitality company, Marriott’s long legacy in designing and operating hotels has helped transform destinations and anchor communities. Through its global portfolio of nearly 8,900 hotels in 141 countries and territories, Marriott is connecting people through the power of travel.

“It’s hard to think of a more deserving recipient for our 37th annual Honor Award than Marriott International,” said Aileen Fuchs, president and executive director of the National Building Museum. “Marriott’s commitment to excellence and community engagement perfectly aligns with the Museum’s pillars of Equity, Innovation, Environment, and Wonder. Marriott’s contributions exemplify the power of design and construction to empower communities, spark innovation, promote sustainability, and inspire wonder through the experience of travel. We are truly honored to celebrate Marriott’s global impact on our shared built environment.”

Anthony Capuano, President and CEO of Marriott International, will accept the Honor Award on behalf of the company. Under his leadership, Marriott continues to drive innovation and advance the company’s position as a global leader in hospitality.

“We are proud to be recognized by one of the nation’s leading cultural institutions in the city of our founding,” said Anthony Capuano, President and CEO of Marriott International. “This award is a testament to the dedication of our teams to design hotels that go far beyond a place to stay. We are focused on building destinations where people live, work and play – creating new guest experiences and opportunities in the communities where we operate around the world.”

For more than three decades, the National Building Museum’s annual Honor Award Gala has been a cornerstone event in the nation’s capital, bringing together esteemed leaders and influencers from various sectors, including the building industries and the greater Washington business community.



The Gala is sponsored in part by, Accenture, American Express, Aramark, CoStar Group, Marriott Bonvoy, PwC, Seneca, AARP, Armstrong World Industries, Arup, Autodesk, Bonstra | Haresign, ARCHITECTS, Clark Construction, Comstock, DAVIS Construction, DLR Group, Dodge Construction Network, Dow Inc., DPR Construction Network, ECOLAB, First Form, Gensler, Grunley Construction Company, Inc., Harvey | Harvey – Cleary, HITT Contracting, Holcim, Host Hotels & Resorts, IMPACT, International Masonry Institute, International Union of Bricklayers and Allied Craftworkers, Lutron, Monumental Sports & Entertainment, ODA, OLIN, Perkins&Will, Robert A.M. Stern Architecture, LLP, rand* construction corporation, Rockwell Group, Rooted Communities, Russell Reynolds, SOM, STUDIOS Architecture, Turner Construction Company, WSP, ZGF, Baker McKenzie, Crowell & Moring, ES, HEI Hotels & Resorts, Hensel Phelps and Thornton Tomasetti, Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP, McKinsey, Power Design, Quinn Emanuel, The American Institute of Architects, The Bernstein Companies & BXP, Charles Pankow Foundation, Deloitte, DONOHOE, EYA, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP, Greystar, Kohler Co., Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates PC, Marvel, NFP, an Aon company, The Poole and Kent Corporation, RLJ Lodging Trust, SmithGroup, TLC Engineering Solutions, U.S. Green Building Council, Venable LLP, W.E. Bowers and Associates, Inc., Watermark Capital Partners, Weller Development Partners, 600 Fifth, Abbey Commercial Flooring, Affiliated Engineers, Inc., Alliance Exterior Construction Inc., American Hotel & Lodging Association, Blueridge, Inc., Bohler Engineering, Brookfield Properties, Capital Square, CBG Building Company, CBRE, Delon Hampton & Associates, Chartered, Ernst & Young, Michael and Pamela Feigin, Foulger Pratt, Howard Hughes Holdings Inc., J.E. Richards, Inc., AE & Stephen Lovett, LSM, MiTek, MRP Realty, National Association of Home Builders and Home Builders Institute, PM Hotel Group, Power Solutions, LLC, Rosendin, Tishman Speyer, Vanderweil, Zurich Construction, Bowman Consulting Group, LTD, Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck, LLP, Consigli Construction Co., Inc., ECS Limited, Eric Colbert & Associates, goulston & storrs, HKS, Inc., Holland & Knight LLP, Hord Coplan Macht, LCOR, Marsh, McCullough Construction, LLC, Mortenson, PNC Bank, Regency Centers, Roadside Development, Streetsense, TYLIN | Silman Structural Solutions, United Airlines, Walter P Moore, McKibbon Hospitality, Sage Hospitality Group, Vision Hospitality Group, Heffron, and Fulcrum Hospitality LLC.


4 Wall Entertainment, Design Foundry, and EMT Productions are event partners.

Architectural Record, Engineering News Record, and Washingtonian are media sponsors.