IIBEC proudly recognizes the exceptional efforts of its members annually through awards presented at their International Convention and Trade Show. All members, regardless of membership classification, are welcome to nominate their peers for an IIBEC honor through the official portal.


Nominations are currently being accepted through November 17 for the following IIBEC honors:

Joe F. Hale Lifetime Achievement Award

Renamed in 2022 for its first recipient, Joe F. Hale, the Lifetime Achievement Award has been presented since 2011 to individuals who have provided a lifetime of extraordinary service and contributions to the success of IIBEC.


IIBEC President’s Award

Introduced in 2023, this award recognizes an individual or individuals who have made a significant contribution to IIBEC within the past year. It is awarded at the pleasure of the sitting president.


Michael DeFrancesco Outstanding Volunteer Award

This award honors the volunteer whose contribution to IIBEC over the course of the past year stands above the rest.


IIBEC Emerging Professionals Award of Excellence

This award is given to a young professional (defined as being younger than 40 and/or within the first 10 years of their career) who has shown exceptional leadership and professionalism, and/or made a substantial industry contribution in their career in the profession of building enclosure consulting.


Richard M. Horowitz Award

This award recognizes the best technical article published in IIBEC Interface within the previous year.


Joshua J. Summers Outstanding Educator Award

This award is presented to IIBEC members in recognition of their exemplary service to IIBEC education (presentation and/or development) on an organizational or chapter level.


William C. Correll Exemplary Service Award

Revised in 2023, this award is presented to an IIBEC staff member who has demonstrated a high degree of professionalism, leadership, ethics, and unselfish dedication, making a significant contribution to the growth and recognition of IIBEC.


Herbert Busching, PhD, Memorial Award

This award recognizes individuals who have contributed to the research, codes and standards, and education of the building enclosure industry



Contact IIBEC Director of Regional and Chapter Relations, Tara Cottle should you have any questions.