The Board of Directors and the Strategic Council of the American Institute of Architects (AIA) are honoring Architecture Research Office (ARO) with the 2020 AIA Architecture Firm Award. 

The annual AIA Architecture Firm Award is the highest honor the AIA bestows on an architecture practice. The award recognizes a firm that has consistently produced distinguished architecture for at least 10 years.

Founded in 1993, the firm is led by principals Stephen Cassell, FAIA, Kim Yao, AIA, and Adam Yarinsky, FAIA. With a staff of just 30, the firm’s portfolio includes a broad range of work that has been widely celebrated and recognized with six AIA Honor Awards, the Cooper-Hewitt National Design Award for Architecture, and the Academy Award for Architecture from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. In 2018, ARO was named AIA New York’s firm of the year.

ARO’s atmosphere is one of collaboration and shared ideas, and its studio environment reflects that commitment. It is not uncommon to find the firm’s young designers participating in client meetings while project directors are leading design, delivery, and operational initiatives. Since its founding, more than 25 former employees have moved on to establish their own practices, and ARO continues to provide mentorship to these young firms.

AIA will honor ARO at the 2020 AIA Conference on Architecture in Los Angeles. Visit AIA’s website to learn more about ARO’s selection as the 2020 AIA Architecture Firm Award recipient.