AIA Detroit will present its third annual Detroit Celebration of Architecture awards, recognizing Detroit-area architects for their significant projects, as well as honor members and member projects that have had noteworthy contributions to the architecture industry and landscape in Detroit.

The Detroit Celebration of Architecture will take place on Thursday, September 24 at 6 p.m., in conjunction with the annual Detroit Design Festival, a week-long event coordinated by Detroit Creative Corridor Collaborative. The event has evolved over the past several years to reflect architects as part of the collective nature of the creative industries in the Detroit area.

Honor awards will be presented in five categories:  Buildings, Interiors, Small Project, Unbuilt and Urban Design.  Awards will be presented to eight different Detroit firms for 11 projects.  In addition to the projects, four individuals, who have made significant contributions to architecture in Detroit and to the Detroit chapter of the AIA, will be honored.


The 2015 award winners are:

Category | BUILDINGS

Biddison Architecture: Agree Realty Headquarters

Integrated Design Solutions: G.G. Brown Mechanical Engineering Building Addition

SmithGroupJJR: Bowling Green State University McDonald Hall Renovation

SmithGroupJJR: Oakland University Engineering Center

Thomas Roberts Architect, LLC: Tibbits Opera House Façade Reconstruction Project


Category | INTERIORS

Harley Ellis Devereaux: Workplace Renovation

inFORM studio: illy– Detroit Metro airport

SmithGroupJJR: Interior Environments New Headquarters



McIntosh Poris Associates: Michigan Research Studio


Category | UNBUILT

inFORM studio: Grand River Public Space



Archive DS: Vernor Crossing


In addition to these firms and projects, the following individuals have made significant contributions to the architectural community in Detroit.

2015 AIA Detroit Gold Medal awarded to Raymond Cekauskas, AIA, principal at Landry | Cekauskas ARCHITECTURE

Awarded for significant contributions to architecture in Detroit and the Detroit Chapter AIA, the Gold Medal Award will be presented to Cekauskas, AIA, principal at Landry | Cekauskas ARCHITECTURE.  After three decades of practice as an architect, designer, craftsman, lecturer and mentor, Cekauskas believes in the power of the AIA’s collective creativity as the crucible for change that will make the world a better place.

CHARLES BLESSING AWARD awarded to Joongsub Kim, PhD, AIA, AICP

Named after the late Charles Blessing, a city planner noted for urban drawings, the award will be presented to Joongsub Kim, PhD, AIA, AICP.  Kim is the Director of the Masters of Urban Design Program and professor at Lawrence Technological University.

ASSOCIATE MEMBER AWARD Awarded to Najahyia Chinchilla, Associate AIA, LEED AP BD+C and Co-Studio Director of Workplace at Gensler.

The Associate Member Award will be given to Najahyia Chinchilla, Associate AIA, LEED AP BD+C and Co-Studio Director of Workplace at Gensler.  Najahyia has been very involved in the AIA in both the New York and Detroit chapters.  Najahyia is currently active in the Urban Priorities Committee of AIA Detroit and is a member of the AIA Detroit Board of Directors.


The Professional Affiliate Award will be presented to Carolyn Dwyer, Hon. Aff. AIA, LEED AP ID+C.  Carolyn is an Account Manager at Patcraft, and the President of the Interior Designers Coalition for Change.  She is an avid supporter of the design industry and has participated on committees for AIA Detroit, the American Society for Interior Designers and the International Interior Design Association. 

Following the event, the Detroit Design Festival and Eastern Market After Dark will host an afterglow party, which is complementary to the public and features craft cocktail bars, a Detroit runway fashion show and music.

The celebration begins with the doors opening at 6 p.m. and the awards program beginning at 7 p.m. Tickets are on sale for $45, or $15 for students, through the AIA Detroit website or through Eventbrite.