TheJeff Harnar Award for Contemporary Architectureis now accepting submissions for the award to be announced on February 25, 2011.

TheJeff Harnar Award for Contemporary Architectureis now accepting submissions for the award to be announced on February 25, 2011. This noteworthy prize is made in honor of the late Jeff Harnar, who was well known for his groundbreaking work in contemporary architecture in Santa Fe, N.M.

“We created the award in Jeff’s honor to encourage creativity and excellence in contemporary architectural design,” said Garrett Thornburg, who initiated this annual award and competition. “It has been our hope from the outset of this competition to highlight contemporary architecture from New Mexico, to show how innovative design and modern materials can be crafted into excellent architecture that can comfortably and respectfully sit side-by-side with the rich existing architecture and create cultural diversity similar to the diversity of the state’s demography.”

The 2011 winner of the Jeff Harnar Award will receive a $10,000 cash prize. For the first time the Thornburg Charitable Foundation, the sponsor for the Jeff Harnar prize and program, is collaborating with the School of Architecture and Planning at the University of New Mexico in all aspects of the competition process and selection of the 2011 award recipient. Dean Geraldine Forbes Isais commented that the School of Architecture and Planning is delighted to work with the Thornburg Charitable Foundation in presenting this highly respected and prominent award.

“This collaboration will mutually benefit the students and faculty of the School of Architecture and Planning as well as the Thornburg Charitable Foundation,” said Dean Isais. “The design jury and awards ceremony will held in George Pearl Hall, designed by New Mexico’s world renowned architect, Antoine Predock. This is a unique opportunity for the academic and architectural communities to engage in meaningful discussions that address the question of excellence in contemporary architecture.”

Submissions for the Jeff Harnar Award must be from an architect or architectural firm for a singular work of architecture built in New Mexico and completed since January 1, 2005. There is no limit to the number of entries per firm or architect. The work must be a permanent structure, rather than temporary or moveable construction. The work should draw inspiration from the regional context, while demonstrating creative sensitivity to climate, site, geology, vegetation and unique quality of light. Architectural solutions must demonstrate appropriate and artistic responses to the challenges of the context, climate, site, client, user needs and budget.

The work must demonstrate innovative utilization of available materials and technology and adhere carefully to established principles and best practices in seeking sustainability.

“We want to promote contemporary architecture and the design of new architectural forms which celebrate and integrate with the architectural uniqueness and the rich cultural heritage of New Mexico,” said Thornburg.

 A distinguished panel consisting of western architects, educators, and critics – including a member of the faculty of the UNM School of Architecture and Planning, a member of the cultural community involved in the creative arts, as well as a graduate student from the UNM architecture program – will select the Jeff Harnar Award recipient.

Completed entries for the 2011 Jeff Harnar Award for Contemporary Architecture must be received no later than 4:30 p.m. MST, Wednesday, Feb. 2, 2011. An awards presentation and celebration is planned for the evening of February 25, 2011 at the Pearl Hall Gallery and Auditorium at UNM. Details for the submission requirements may be viewed at