The Roofing Alliance announced the 2022-23 Most Valuable Player (MVP) Awards finalists and honorable mention recipients. The winners for Outstanding Performance and Leadership, Outstanding Community Involvement and the recipient of Professional Roofing's Best of the Best, a recognition co-sponsored by OMG Roofing Products and Professional Roofing magazine, will be announced during the NRCA’s Awards Ceremony on March 8, 2023, at the International Roofing Expo in Dallas, Texas.
 Through the MVP Award program, the Roofing Alliance honors leadership in the field. Roofing contractors nominate field roofing workers, foremen or superintendents. Distributors and supplier firms nominate warehouse employees, warehouse foremen, drivers or equipment operators. Individuals can be nominated for their outstanding performance and leadership or outstanding community involvement.  Since the program’s inception 20 years ago, 738 employees have been nominated and 279 winners and finalists have been recognized.
The 2023 MVP Award Finalists include:

  • Rick Amellin, machine operator, OMG Inc., Agawam, Mass.   
  • Shane Day, superintendent, The Durable Slate Company, Columbus, Ohio
  • Christopher Knott, field worker, East Coast Roofing, Siding & Windows, Mayas Landing, N.J.
  • Ken Roderick, superintendent, United Roofing Group Inc., Anchorage, Alaska
  • Oscar Salas, superintendent, KPost Roofing & Waterproofing, Dallas, Texas 
  • Terry Tilsen, superintendent, Advanced Roofing Inc., Fort Lauderdale, Fla.

The 2023 MVP Honorable Mention Recipients include: 

  • John Biondi, driver, Beacon Building Products, Toronto 
  • John Gustavel, superintendent, Bone Dry Roofing Co., A Roofing Corp of America Company, Bogart, Ga. 
  • Daniel Lopez Negrete, superintendent, D.C. Taylor Co., Concord, Calif. 
  • Mark McKinney, superintendent, CFE Inc., Apex, N.C. 
  • Sean Willis, foreman, L.E. Schwartz & Son Inc., Macon, Ga.
Previous Best of the Best Award winners include:
 2008: Rodney Griffith, foreman, Centimark Corp., Pelham, AL., and Teri Stallion, field superintendent, Innovative Roofing Group, Atlanta, Ga.
 2009: Eugena Madeley, yard/receiving/truck driver, Gooding, Simpson & Mackes Inc., Ephrata, Pa.
 2010: Richard Heilinger, service specialist, Gooding, Simpson & Mackes Inc., Ephrata, Pa.
 2011: George Denton, superintendent, Supreme Roofing Systems Inc., Dallas, Texas
 2012: David Baytosh, superintendent, Advanced Roofing Inc., Fort Lauderdale, Fla.
 2013: Dan Pastore, superintendent, Upstate Roofing and Painting Inc., Rochester, N.Y.
 2014: Ryan Watts, foreman, Jurin Roofing Services Inc., Quakertown, Pa
 2015: Scott Luck, foreman, CentiMark Corp., Canonsburg, Pa
 2016: Curtis Purvis, superintendent, Chamberlin Roofing & Waterproofing, Farmers Branch, Texas
 2017: Narcisco Alarcon, superintendent, Antis Roofing and Waterproofing, Irvine, Calif.
 2018: Alan Baird, foreman, Core Contractors Inc., Denver, Colo.
 2019: Brandon Reese, foreman, Korellis Roofing, Hammond, Ind.
 2020: Todd Dunlap, superintendent, warehouse foreman and equipment operator, Frost Roofing Inc., Wapakoneta, Ohio
 2021: Arturo Lopez, foreman with Stiles Roofing Inc., Lebanon, Mo.  
 2022: Dennis Dudek, superintendent with Tecta America Southeast LLC, Sanford, Fla.  
For more information about the Roofing Alliance or the Most Valuable Player Awards, please contact Alison L. LaValley, CAE atalavalley@nrca.netor visit