The Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute recognized several noteworthy contributions to the precast, pressed concrete industry at its annual PCI Committee Days and Technical Conference, Featuring the National Bridge Conference Awards Luncheon in Rosemont, Illinois, on September 27.

“To mark PCI’s 65th year, Committee Days celebrates PCI history as a technical Institute,” said Bob Risser, P.E., PCI President and CEO. “The Norman L. Scott and T. Henry Clark awards celebrate our commitment to technical excellence and quality in individual members. And we secure the future of the precast industry by honoring the contribution of outstanding educators.”

This year’s winners are:

 The Educator of the Year Award was presented to Sriram Aaleti, faculty member in the Department of Civil Engineering at the University of Alabama. His teaching experience includes undergraduate and graduate courses in structural engineering related to reinforced concrete and prestressed concrete.

  • The Distinguished Educator Award was presented to Sergio F. Breña, professor and associate department head of the Civil and Environmental Engineering Department at the University of Massachusetts Amherst. He is past chair of PCI’s Student Education Committee and he received the PCI Young Educator Award in 2011.
  • Edwin A. McDougle Jr., former president of Ross Bryan Associates Inc., received the Normal L. Scott Professional Engineer Award posthumously. He served on dozens of PCI committees, was named a PCI Fellow in 1997, served on the Board of Directors from 2013-14, was named a PCI Titan in 2014, and received the T. Henry Clark Award in 2016. He passed away in January 2019.
  • The T. Henry Clark Award was presented to Keith Wallis Jr. He began his career at Prestressed Casting Co. in quality control in 1979 and is currently general manager, overseeing all aspects of the company. A PCI Fellow, Wallis is active on more than 10 PCI committees and has served on the Board of Directors from 2007-12 and since 2015. He is currently Board chair.
  • The Martin P. Korn Award honors the best design or research paper appearing in PCI Journal during a single year. This year’s award is given to Robin Hendricks, research engineer, ATLSS Center at Lehigh University; Clay Naito, professor, Lehigh University; and Andrew Osborn, senior principal, Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates. Their two-part paper, “Flange-to-flange double-tee connections subjected to vehicular loading, part 1: Numerical assessment approach”; and part 2: “Fatigue life assessment,” appeared in the July-August 2018 and March-April 2019 issues of PCI Journal, respectively.