The American Iron and Steel Institute (AISI) has announced several organizational and leadership changes put in place for the 2016 – 2022 standards development cycle. The AISI Standards Council is responsible for maintaining an effective leadership structure for the Committee on Framing Standards (COFS), Committee on Specifications (COS), and Administrative Committees; monitoring the complete suite of ANSI (American National Standards Institute)—accredited AISI standards; and identifying needs for developing new standards.


The 2016-2022 leadership team includes the following (new appointments and subcommittees are identified in italics):

AISI Standards Council (changes effective September 1, 2016)

  • Chairman– Rick Haws, P.E., Nucor Buildings Group
  • Vice Chairman– Roger LaBoube, Ph.D., P.E., Wei-Wen Yu Center for Cold-Formed Steel Structures (CCFSS)
  • Pat Ford, P.E., Steel Framing Industry Association (SFIA)
  • Steve Fox, Ph.D., P.Eng., Canadian Sheet Steel Building Institute (CSSBI)
  • Jeff Klaiman, P.E., ADTEK Engineers
  • Greg Ralph, ClarkDietrich Building Systems
  • Lee Shoemaker, Ph.D., P.E., Metal Building Manufacturers Association (MBMA)
  • Tom Sputo, Ph.D., P.E., Steel Deck Institute (SDI)


Administrative Committees (changes effective as of April 1, 2016)

  • Strategic Planning– Ben Schafer, Ph.D., The Johns Hopkins University
  • Education – Don Allen, P.E., SuperStud Building Products
  • Editorial – Vince Sagan, P.E., MBMA


Committee on Framing Standards (changes effective as of April 1, 2016)—A consensus group which maintains and updates the suite of North American cold-formed steel framing standards.

  • Main CommitteeChairman – Roger LaBoube, Ph.D., P.E., CCFSS
  • Main Committee – Vice Chairman, Steve Fox, Ph.D., P.Eng., CSSBI
  • FramingDesign – Pat Ford, P.E., SFIA
  • Lateral Design – Rob Madsen, P.E., Supreme Steel Framing System Association (SSFSA)
  • Prescriptive Methods – Sutton Stephens, Ph.D., P.E., S.E., Pacific Northwest Engineering
  • Standard Practices – Jeff Klaiman, P.E., ADTEK Engineers


Committee on Specifications (changes effective September 1, 2016)—A consensus group which maintains and updates the North American Specification for the Design of Cold-Formed Steel Structural Members (AISI S100), the North American Standard for the Design of Profiled Steel Diaphragm Panels (AISI S310), and the suite of cold-formed steel test standards (AISI S900 series).

  • Main Committee – Chairman– Rick Haws, P.E., Nucor Buildings Group
  • Main Committee – Vice Chairman– Steve Fox, Ph.D., P.E., CSSBI
  • CF-3: Connections and Joints – Perry Green, Ph.D., P.E., Bechtel Power Corporation
  • CF-4: Assemblies and Systems – Vince Sagan, P.E., MBMA
  • CF-6: Test-Based Design – Randy Daudet, P.E., S.E., Simpson Strong-Tie
  • CF-22: Stability and Combined Actions - Jim Crews, P.E., Unarco Material Handling
  • CF-24: Member Design – Bob Glauz, P.E., RSG Software
  • CF-31: General Provisions – Al Harrold, P.E., BlueScope Steel
  • CF-33: Diaphragm Design – Tom Sputo, Ph.D., P.E., SDI

“These changes reflect the completion of work related to the previous standards development cycle and an increased focus on analysis methods, mid-rise framing design and diaphragm design in the new cycle,” said Jay Larson, P.E., F.ASCE, managing director of AISI’s Construction Technical Program. “We are pleased to welcome these experts to their new leadership roles. We gratefully acknowledge the many contributions of those who are completing their committee work and in many cases, moving on to new committee responsibilities. We would like to especially acknowledge the leadership and contributions of Roger Brockenbrough, who is retiring as chairman of AISI’s Committee on Specifications after more than 25 years of service. Under Roger’s leadership, six editions of the Cold-Formed Steel Specification were published, including the ‘harmonized North American standard.’”